25 DAYS OF DECEMBER – DAY 20 OUR BEST CHRISTMAS DRINKS, ALCOHOL/ALCOHOL FREE

25 DAYS OF DECEMBER – DAY 20 OUR BEST CHRISTMAS DRINKS, ALCOHOL/ALCOHOL FREE

Around the festive period, many of us like to have a drink, be it a social drink with family at the dinner table, or out partying for New Years.

But not all alcohol is vegetarian or vegan-friendly!

Why are some wines and beers not suitable for vegetarians or vegans?

It’s all to do with the manufacturing process: when it comes to beer it’s because sometimes gelatine or isinglass (a type of gelatine from fish) is used for ‘fining’ the beer (fining means clarifying).

But even if a beer is vegetarian-friendly and uses plant-based products during the manufacturing, it often contains milk so this is something to watch out for!

With wine, it’s also the ‘fining’ process that can make them not suitable for veggies or vegans, as casein or egg whites can also be used.

So can I buy vegetarian or vegan-friendly wine?

Yes, you can. At Arjuna all our alcohol from our cider to stout to our gluten-free beers are vegan-friendly!

Not just that but our wines are too. (We also stock a few sulphate free wines, for anyone that has this allergy).

If you’re not intending on getting alcoholic beverages from Arjuna then there is also a very useful site called Barnivore

But what if I don’t want alcohol?

That’s okay, as we also stock some really nice alcohol-free drinks that you can enjoy any time of year. We have some nice cordials in different flavours from ginger to raspberry.

But we also have some non-alcoholic Chardonnay and red wine alternatives too!

 

 

 

No Comments

Post A Comment